The Myths and Facts of Gluten Related Disorders: Part 2 with Pamela Cureton, RDN, LDN
Video taken from the channel: MGHfC
Coeliac Disease: Session 4: The gluten free diet
Video taken from the channel: Patient Webinars
Is Whiskey Gluten Free?
Video taken from the channel: The Whiskey Dictionary
Is whiskey gluten free?
Video taken from the channel: TopWhiskies
Is Vodka Made from Wheat Gluten Free? Gluten free liquor test
Video taken from the channel: TheDutchSandwich
The Top Gluten Free + Carb Free Whiskies
Video taken from the channel: Whiskey Muse
Gluten free booze: What alcohol can coeliacs drink? | VLOGMAS DAY 21
Video taken from the channel: The Gluten Free Blogger
Unless you’re drinking your whiskey straight, you need to watch out for the mixers used in making your drink. Some mixers may contain gluten. Obviously, a whiskey-and-water is fine, and a whiskey-and-Coke should be fine (assuming you’re okay with conventional whiskey or that you use a sorghum-based whiskey), since Coke is a gluten-free soft drink. Mountain Dew, 7UP and Sprite also are considered.
The only way to guarantee your whiskey is free from gluten is to purchase a product made from 100% gluten-free grains, such as corn, millet, or sorghum.Is Whiskey Gluten-Free? Yes, pure, distilled whiskey (or whisky), even if made with wheat, barley, or rye is considered gluten-free.
Most whiskeys are safe for people with celiac disease because of the distillation process. However, be on the lookout for hidden gluten in whiskeys that add flavorings or other additives after distillation.Whiskey is a type of alcohol typically made from gluten grains which are removed to 20 ppm. According to most Celiac Disease experts, most whiskey is safe to drink for Celiacs.
However, since everyone reacts to gluten differently, you will have to drink at your own risk.As you probably know whiskey is made from grain and I was surprised to find that despite wheat, barley and rye all containing gluten many whiskies can legally be labelled as gluten free as the gluten is removed during the distillation process.Instead, it may be time for those people to switch over to vodkas made from potatoes, rum, and tequila drinks, which are all made from gluten-free grains. Though, if you really want to pick up a bottle of whiskey you could seek out sorghum whiskeys made from sorghum like James F.C.
Hyde Whiskey, and New Southern Revival.As corn does not naturally contain gluten, any vodka made from it is permitted to use the term ‘gluten-free’ in large letters across its bottle. However whisky – single malt Scotch, blended Scotch, American rye, even Bourbon with a mashbill that contains rye or barley in addition to corn – is exempt from this permission.Here’s a sampling of responses I received after posting that whiskey’s, etc. are gluten-free: You are spreading mis-information!
Some whiskeys, bourbons and scotchs are aged in barrels coated in wheat paste. Very sensitive celiacs can react!Distillation removes gluten proteins from the final product. That means all distilled spirits are technically gluten-free.
However, some people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity have adverse reactions to spirits distilled from wheat, barley or rye. Many people with celiac disease have no problems at all with such spirits.Distilled Spirits The majority of distilled spirits are acceptable to drink when you’re on a gluten-free diet.
Beverages such as vodka, rum, gin and whiskey are made from a number of products, but these don’t contain gluten. Check the ingredients on your choice of mixer to ensure it doesn’t contain gluten.Certain spirits like beer, Bourbon, whiskey, liqueurs, and pre-mixed drinks, do contain some percentage of gluten.
Hence, it is important that you find out whether or not a particular alcohol has gluten or not. Now that we know what is gluten, let’s go over the list of gluten-free alcoholic drinks, and some recipes.I have no problem with single scotch malt whisky,including Glenfiddich, and coeliac UK state that they are gluten free due to the process.
I can highly recommend Highland Park if you like a smooth malt. If you prefer a peaty one, Jura Superstition is good without being overpowering.If you can’t stomach that idea, then pick a bottle derived from naturally gluten-free ingredients. Olathe-based Good Spirits Distilling’s Clear 10 Vodka and Tito’s Handmade Vodka are both made from.There are plenty of healthy and delicious foods to choose from on a gluten-free diet.
Here is a list of 54 gluten-free foods, as well as some foods to avoid on a gluten-free diet.Jameson’s website states that their whiskey is gluten-free due to their distillation process, but people with high gluten sensitivity have been know to have a reaction to whiskey even after this process.
List of related literature:
|from The Whole30: The 30-Day Guide to Total Health and Food Freedom|
|from Wheat Belly (Revised and Expanded Edition): Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health|
|from Sleisenger and Fordtran’s Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease E-Book: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management|
|from Nutrition Therapy and Pathophysiology|
|from Nutrition Essentials for Mental Health: A Complete Guide to the Food-Mood Connection|
|from Undoctored: Why Health Care Has Failed You and How You Can Become Smarter Than Your Doctor|
|from Wheat Belly Cookbook: 150 Recipes to Help You Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health|
|from Gluten Is My Bitch: Rants, Recipes, and Ridiculousness for the Gluten-Free|
|from Crazy Sexy Diet: Eat Your Veggies, Ignite Your Spark, And Live Like You Mean It!|
|from Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Complete Food and Nutrition Guide, 5th Ed|